Stray Thoughts: 4/18/2017

I had a very odd dream last night. I’ll blame it on the cocktail of melatonin and allergy medicine I took before drifting off to sleep. 

I was with my dad in his office where he used to work. He died in 1995 and the company that he worked for went out of business in 1997. In the dream, the premise was basically that one of the former owners received a buttload of capital and was trying to resuscitate the business, and the capital came with the precursor that the old model had to be followed first before following suggestions(that had they been followed way back when the business would still be alive and thriving, but that’s another story for another day). 

So I was sitting across his desk, and this seemed like modern day, and my dad looked older, more gray hair than he had back then. A really freaking and chilling dream. 

We walk over to a flat screen on the wall and he’s reviewing numbers, knowing that it’s going to fail again.   I asked how many sales store x did yesterday.  The answer was 15.  The whole store did 15 sales and a couple of those were bottles of soda that employees bought to go with their lunch/break. 

I wake up, and I’m sweating, partially due to  the days and nights getting warmer, and partially due to the content of the dream.  Just woke up on edge. This was about 4am.  I went to the bathroom. Turned the TV back on and put Parks and Recreation on and grabbed my tablet and read until I was back asleep. I’m about 90% done with “Riding The Rap”, the Elmore Leonard novel I’ve been reading, so I guess there is that. It’s one of those type of dreams where you want to reach for someone and snuggle up to them and just hold them. 

When I woke up this morning, I was still on edge, still am.  Coffee hasn’t helped. Nothing ever does. 

Leave a Reply

